The Dallas Stars announced their opening night roster this afternoon, comprising of 13 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders for a total of 22 players.

Here's a positional breakdown of the roster, in alphabetical order:




​Rich Peverley, Scott Glennie and Aaron Rome are all on injured reserve, so that is why their names are not listed on the roster. When the Stars activate Peverley and Rome from injured reserve, the roster will be considerably shaken up. 

Trevor Daley, who missed most of the preseason with an injury, is also expected to be in the lineup against the Florida Panthers on Thursday night.

The NHL season begins tomorrow. The wait is almost over, ladies and gentlemen. Sooner, rather than later, the Stars will finally begin a new era.

Here is the team's official release.

FRISCO, Texas - Dallas Stars General Manager Jim Nill announced today the club's opening night roster for the 2013-14 season. The Stars roster is comprised of 22 players, including 13 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders. Dallas' full opening night roster is below:


14    Jamie Benn "C"

12    Alex Chiasson

72    Erik Cole

20    Cody Eakin

38    Vernon Fiddler

16    Ryan Garbutt

10    Shawn Horcoff

28    Lane MacDermid

18    Chris Mueller

43    Valeri Nichushkin

21    Antoine Roussel

91    Tyler Seguin

13    Ray Whitney "A"


24    Jordie Benn

23    Kevin Connauton

6      Trevor Daley

4      Brenden Dillon

33    Alex Goligoski

55    Sergei Gonchar

3      Stephane Robidas "A"


30    Dan Ellis

32    Kari Lehtonen

In addition, Stars forwards Scott Glennie and Rich Peverley, and defenseman Aaron Rome have been placed on injured non-roster.

The Dallas Stars open the 2013-14 regular season on Thursday, Oct. 3 as the club hosts the Florida Panthers at the American Airlines Center at 7:30 pm CT.